Winter starting tips

action4478

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm new to driving a diesel this year , so far it has been great. I live in Michigan & was wondering what to expect from my truck in the cold. Like starting tips ,using engine heater , fuel additives, ect. Also any maint. tips. thanks , Rick

94f450sd

certified nutjob
Reaction score
make sure all your glowplugs are good.if you dont know the last time they were replaced,replace them with new BERu plugs from autozone at around 9.00 each.you can run a good anti gel fuel additive such as POWER SERVICE,STANADYNE or others to keep the fuel from gelling in the colder temps.the block heater does help some with cold starting.

but i dont do anything but replace my glowplugs once a year,some say thats excessive or unneeded but thats them.i dont run fuel additive cuz im too lazy to remember to dump some in or go buy some when i fill up.i usually keep both of my tanks full in the winter.only reason i plug the heater in is so that i have a little heat in the morning when i take off.but normally i dont plug it in either.

Crumm

Fordoholic
Reaction score
I run #1 fuel in the winter but also add Howe's treatment for some lube since the #1 is so dry and to remove any moisture. If you are running number 2 in freezing temps then some anti-gel additive is a must.

I run Synthetic oil.

I plug in at work when the temp drops to 20 or so(all winter) but park inside at home. I also have a oil pan heater to keep the oil warm.

I test the glow plugs every year but only change them when they are bad. I did change them all a couple of years ago just for peace of mind.