'04 sd 6.0 no start

alltire

MN TIRE DUDE
Reaction score
Drove my truck this afternoon without any issues (never had an issue b4). 1 hour later, I turn it over and all I get is over and over, but NO START. New fuel filters 5000mi ago(with oil change), and no codes in ECU/PCM(whatever). I did a nice kick to the fuel tank, and nothing(trying to jar pump??). Is there an easy way to check fuel pressure, or is there an order to go about checking things. I'm a rookie on diesels, and I don't know where most diesel specific sensors are, but if anyone can tell me what to check, I could go through this stuff in the morning (hoping for many responses here ;-))
I've checked all fuses that relate to fuel or computer, and all look good. Turns over at nice speed, but no sign of any starting at all.
Joe

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
I do not have an answer for your no start problem, but you can check a few things. Oil level. These trucks need 500 psi oil pressure to fire the injectors at start. Your starter and batteries need to be in top shape, charged are capable of 775 CCA (Cold Cranking Amps) delivery to the starter motor. The starter needs to spin the engine at 500 rpm for a start. Check these and see what you find. Good Luck.

Dave

alltire

MN TIRE DUDE
Reaction score
How do I check (and where is) the HPOP. Is there an HPOP sender that may be bad?

Last edited:

f100cleveland

When In Doubt,THROTTLE ON
Reaction score