96 F350 Died on highway

KansasDiesel

fly'n low on WVO
Reaction score
Last week I left for work, got 2 blocks away took off on the highway and the truck hesitated then died.

The 2 hour wait for the tow truck, I got my computer connected (autoenginuity ford enhanced) and it gave me a CPS fault, I got one that day after getting it towed home.

Today I got time to install the new CPS. cleared the code and the truck still won't start. no codes coming up. I checked my battery voltage and it was right at 10 volts when cranking over. Jumped from my other car and voltage when cranking was 10.5 volts.

I am new with the AutoEngunity software is there another check that can tell me what might be wrong?

I have good fuel pressure, the injector buzz test said Good, even though one injector sounds week.

Help I need to get this going again. See my sig for my mods....

KansasDiesel

fly'n low on WVO
Reaction score
Both batteries were replaced 2 years ago.

The voltage is 12.4 just sitting, around 11.2 with the GP on, and when cranking it went down to 10 .

There is a min. voltage that will not allow the engine to start from the PCM I think it was 10.2 but not sure. That is why I was jumping the truck with the other car, and I should have had plent of voltage while jumping, but she still won't start.

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Reaction score
It isn't a min voltage, but rather a min RPM at cranking and I don't know the number. If it does not crank fast enough, it won't fire.

Dave

KansasDiesel

fly'n low on WVO
Reaction score
She is turning as normal.
I have the batteries charging I will try them with a fresh charge.

I remember a couple of years ago when I had a hard start problem that a Ford mechanic said that the computer won't start the PSD if the voltage was too low, even if it was cranking good. That was the problem in my case then, I replaced the batteries and it was fine.