Help Needed Blown turbo?

Kirbco

kirbco
Reaction score
While towing a loaded car trailer I was heading up a hill the tranny downshifted it reved to about 2600 and made a large bang/clanking sound. I pulled over thinking I finally roasted the tranny but after inspection saw no issues. I was able to drive the truck home 75 miles towing the trailer with no power, 35mph up hill. Tranny is shifting through all the gears, I hear a slight turbo whistle still but all power is gone. It also doesn't feel or sound like a waste gate issue, I'm a decent mechanic but never messed with diesels, wont be saying that in a week. Truck has always been sluggish, tranny is a boo hiss and the torque converter doesn't lock much at all as far as I'm concerned. The guy I bought it from put the 4" exhaust but that was it. I'm told that the early production 99's had smaller injectors and with the big exhaust it just falls on its face. . I have been planning for a turbo/tuner/gauge upgrade so if it sound like a turbo any info on what combos work would be a big help. leaning away from banks, garret38? 1999 f250 4 door auto 7.3 Zoodad and 4" exhaust. best truck I ever owned!!!!
Any input would be great I hope I provided enough info,.

Last edited:

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
One thing you might check out first ?
Inspect all the I/C boot connections.. you may have just blown a boot off.. or split a boot. It's best to remove all the boots, so you can do a Touchy~Feely inspection.

If they're the OEM boots.. yer lucky you've made it This far. ;)

Worth a Look see. :dunno

Joe

Kirbco

kirbco
Reaction score
I did a visual on the side of the road, looked Ok but was kind of hot. I will look tomorrow but the bang and metalic sound lead me to think it's more. Thanks for the responce I will look better in the AM. Kevin

dpantazis

Reaction score
if the turbo went, it would have shrapnelled and you you would not hear a whine now.