hole in steel line leading from?sensor

komasands

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Hello
I'm a newbie to forums and I'm female so please bear with me and I will try not to say (thingamajigs to often.) I have a 99 super duty power stroke with 600k miles on it and I love my truck, but it won't start. I have been having trouble starting it for about a year now, first I had to recycle the glow plugs because it would not start in cold weather, (someone told me to do that) Then I had to plug it in if it got below 50 degrees, ( worked for awhile ) then I had to pump the pedal three or four times and hold it in the middle, (worked for about 4 months that way). Shut it off after a day of shopping at different stores, went to start it 3 hours lat:confused: er and it has not started since, except with starting fluid, it ran after starting but would not start again without starting fluid, I had someone says he ran a scan on it and that the icp sensor, icpregulator, and icp pump had to be changed he thinks, but he's not positive. What do you guys think? :confused: well any way i decided to see if I could locate the icp sensor and found a hole about the size of a pea in a steel line, the line is attached to a sensor ( not the ipc sensor I found that though) Its in the front of the engine just behind the serpentine belt and it looks like it goes to the exhaust manifold. Could that be my problem? what might have caused it to get a hole in it?
Koma

Last edited:

BamaSixGun

SDD Super Mod/Staff
Reaction score
cant really say about your problems, i do hope your truck gets fixed soon.

i know nothing about the 7.3's, just wanted to say :welcome3

Got Diesel

Engineering College Boy
Reaction score
That line is the Exhaust back pressure tube. The hole got there from a little thing called rust. It happens not that big of a deal. Mine was bad enough that the front of my engine was covered in soot. I actually bent myself a new one. Otherwise you can pick one up from ford for pretty cheap.