Question How would you rate Performance & Reliability of 6.0 Powerstoke to Cummins, Duramax

gabalong

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the message board, and a new Diesel Owner. Got a 2007 F250 Lariat 6.0 Powerstroke a few weeks ago. So far i am very impressed with the performance, quality, and fuel efficiency of the truck.

Was just curious how other more knowledgeable Diesel owners would rate the Ford 6.0 Powerstroke engine performance and reliability compared to the competitors cummins and duramax engines. Was the 6.0 Ford a good choice?

strokepower

Stroke=Power
Reaction score
Welcome to SDD...

I would say it definitely depends on how well you treat your truck, how you drive it and maintence. The 6.0 is a great motor if you use it the way it was intended to be used... I know the cummins motors have signifcantly better power numbers for the same buck but that doesn't matter unless you are planning on racing someone for doing pulling competitions or something like that... I don't know too much about the 6.6 duramaxs but i have a buddy that loves his.. I think the allison tranny is definitely the best of the factory options from the big 3... and the motor is supposedly pretty good...

all in all I don't think you'll be disappointed in your 6.0... if you plan on throwing lots of power at it then you might wanna consider some ARP head studs as the 6.0s are known for head gasket failures.. other than that they are pretty reliable...

like i said before if you take care of it.. it will be a very reliable truck for many years..

good luck with your truck and welcome to sdd.com... lots of people know lots of info around here..

gabalong

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
thanks for reply, i enjoy seeing others comments

Thanks Strokepower, I will mainly be using it for daily transportation, with some towing of a light trailer. Will probably leave pretty much stock, has plenty of power for my usage.

gabalong

Zookie400

I WANNA GO FAST
Reaction score