I want to quiet my beast down a bit

Hoss 350

My GSP, Dutch
Reaction score
Hey guys.

I've found myself in the unenviable position of having some "truck envy" and was hoping to get some advice off of you learned individuals.

The envy comes from my Dad's 06 Duramax. It is powerful, smooth, and QUIET.

The powerful and smooth thing I think I took care of with my performance mods, but the queit thing I am struggling with a bit.

SO, I need recommendations from you gents on how to quiet it up in the cab, since at 170K, the old girl is a noisy pig.

I'm thinking about the following...

1.) Regulated return kit and mess with the pressure for optimal quietness. How much difference will this make?

2.) an insulation kit of some sort. Any recommendations? undercoating of some sort? I have no experience with this stuff.

I've had cackle for the last 15 K or so, so I've been meaning to do the reg return anyway. But i don't think it will quiet it down enough to make a big difference. So insulation is the next best bet, i think.

RoyBoy

Diesel Dork
Reaction score
Hey guys.

I've found myself in the unenviable position of having some "truck envy" and was hoping to get some advice off of you learned individuals.

The envy comes from my Dad's 06 Duramax. It is powerful, smooth, and QUIET.

The powerful and smooth thing I think I took care of with my performance mods, but the queit thing I am struggling with a bit.

SO, I need recommendations from you gents on how to quiet it up in the cab, since at 170K, the old girl is a noisy pig.

I'm thinking about the following...

1.) Regulated return kit and mess with the pressure for optimal quietness. How much difference will this make?

2.) an insulation kit of some sort. Any recommendations? undercoating of some sort? I have no experience with this stuff.