Question Is the 6.0 Junk ???

mantis

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Ok guy's I am new to the Ford Powerstroke world.I got into a discussion with a guy at work last night about ford diesel motors being junk.He said you have to change the Fuel filter on the 6.0 about every oil change, and pretty much had nothing good to say about them.Is this guy full of it, or does he know what he is talking about?

Last edited:

Yooper75

Boost Junky
Reaction score
In short is the 6.0 junk? No it is not. Does it have some problems yes but they are easily solved with some money and better parts. Your buddy is full of it as far as the fuel filters are concerned. The service interval for changing filters is the same as every other vehicle on the road which is about 15k-20k depending on fuel quality and how many miles its driven. I change the filters on my truck every third oil change which is about 4-5 times a year.

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok guy's I am new to the Ford Powerstroke world.I got into a discussion with a guy at work last night about ford diesel motors being junk.He said you have to change the Fuel filter on the 6.0 about every oil change, and pretty much had nothing good to say about them.Is this guy full of it, or does he know what he is talking about?

He is Misinformed. The 6.0 is a Very Good Motor.

With ANY engine... It's All About how you Drive & Maintain it.

AND... We only hear about the ones that have had an issue.

How many 6.0's are out there.. as compared ?

My .03

Joe

mantis

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score