Muffler leaking fuel!

sagebel

Stock? Pfft!
Reaction score
I have a black liquid coming out the front of the muffler. It smells like fuel.

I just drove to WNY yesterday from GA and got 10 mpg pulling about 6k. Mileage was the same in the mountains of NC, VA, and WV and the flats of GA and SC. The mileage doesn't really concern me but I did think it would be a little better. Empty mileage has been about 14 primarily highway on Bills economy tune which I think is low.

Truck idles fine and pulls the hills fine. The mid level work is where it struggles. As many of you know, I have been troubleshooting a miss or vibration for a few months now. The vibration occurs followed by boost going up a few pounds and the vibration goes away. On the flat ground this is a re-occuring cycle every 10-15 seconds. This only happens in overdrive.

Truck didn't use any oil or coolant on the 1000 mile run. Truck makes white smoke when engine is lugged. White smoke at idle (yes, somewhat normal) and puts out a pretty good cloud of black smoke on takeoff after idle.

I need any suggestions and help asap. I am in the middle of a duty station change and am headed to CT on Friday for two months of school, then moving to WA in June. I need to get this thing running right soon. Any help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

If anyone is the in the WNY area and can give me a hand send me a PM and I will give you my #.

RoyBoy

Diesel Dork
Reaction score
Usually that is from wet stacking, have you left it idle for extended periods of time? Doesn't make a lot of sense being you've been putting miles on it. You could have a sticking injector. Thats about the only other thing I could think of.

JLDickmon

ursus combibo
Reaction score
Usually that is from wet stacking, have you left it idle for extended periods of time? Doesn't make a lot of sense being you've been putting miles on it. You could have a sticking injector. Thats about the only other thing I could think of.