New truck, new exhaust... opinions?

06silvercrew

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just bought my 06 CC SB 2 weeks ago yesterday. So far Ive added a few minor things(vent shades, silver star bulbs, powerstroke tag on front) Friday I installed the SCT X3 programmer. For the past four+ nights Ive been online researching exhaust, and the best bang for the buck. Tonight I just ordered an MBRP 4'' aluminuzed turboback off road kit. Did ALOT fo searching, and found one for $350, and included SS tip. Did I make an OK decision? I know many of you will prob. say I should have went with the SS, but A) I live in the south, no road salt, road grime etc. B) I bought what I could afford at the moment, and not have the wife all over my case. Any tips or advice to installing this? Im a GM tech, and work on Duramax's everyday, but the SD's are all new to me.

Scott

WD40

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It will be fine. It never hurts to save a buck when you can.

If you can work on a Duramax's everyday you will have no problems putting it on the S/D.
Also WELCOME to SSD.com

GO BIG

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Went with the same kit. One thing to say is there is no way to put the cat back on if you need to get warranty work. Went through MBRP and the wat an additional 170 bucks plus shiiping for a new down pipe and test pipe. I just welded v clamps on either side of the cat and test pipe to make it work.

bushpilot

Full Access Member
Reaction score
MBRP is by far the most popular exhaust...It's probably due to
their fit & finish.

I went w/ the SS system myself, its held up well in the salt, snow
and sea air/elements.

I like the MBRP test pipe for the simple fact that it requires no
modification to either the factory cat, the stock exhaust or the
aftermarket exhaust systems (since its uses EXACTLY the same
fittment "type" and is same length as the factory cat)...not cutting
no welding and not bizarre clamps required !