Questions about the 6.0 Motor?

scorpion111180

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am very new to the Diesel trucks. I am looking at purchasing a 2007 F350 Crew Cab Short Box 4x4. It has the 6.0 Powerstroke and the Automatic transmission. Since day 1 when these motors came out I have heard nothing but horror stories about these 6.0 motors. I have owned Ford's my whole life but always half tons. I have read a few things on the 6.0 to put APR head studs and do the EGR delete. Just wondering if there is other mods to do to these trucks to make it bulletproof and reliable. I would also like to put a Tuner Chip, 4 or 5" Turbo back exhaust, Cold air Intake on it as well. I would like to add these mods for more performance as well getting better gas mileage If anyone has any recommendations on what works for these trucks. I will use this truck as a daily driver and use it to pull my 25" holiday trailer.

majek5

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If you don't have emissions testing, do the EGR delete. Studs are not a necessity if you watch your oil and coolant delta, (should be no more than 15*). If you have a greater than 15* difference, your oil cooler or egr could be plugged, which is how the heads lift when the coolant gets flash boiled. If you do an EGR delete changing out the oil cooler is a good idea as well, since you are in there that far. Going with an exhaust will help out as well. "They" say unless you are going for 500+hp the stock airbox works as good or better than aftermarket. As for a "chip", go with a SCT SF3 with custom tunes. Who ever writes the tunes will write them for studs or no studs. Lastly, put a coolant filter on the truck and switch to an EC-1 rated ELC coolant.

Last edited:

2 Stroker

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome
Everything majek5 said is right on keep the stock air intake and spend your $$$$ on other things.