Rust Spots on Clear coat

Boadie

Guzzler of the Coors
Reaction score
Any one ever experienced this, does anyone know what it is from? It is a white truck so it is really visible.

Frankenstien

Frankestien
Reaction score
I have seen this when a vehicle is near a place that does a lot of welding/fabricating. large amounts of iron get into the air, in the form of dust... normaly a decent wax pulls out the stain.

Boadie

Guzzler of the Coors
Reaction score
Thats what I told him but he works in home construction so I was thinking there might be another reason for it.

patrickc

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I also work in construction and have had these rust spots on my truck. I am unsure on what caused them but I found that a good wash and scrub makes them disappear.

N_P

Truck Nut
Reaction score
Any one ever experienced this, does anyone know what it is from? It is a white truck so it is really visible.

I lived in southern CA for a few months back in 1988-89 (thank god it was only a few months) stuff just fell outta the air. The dew would settle in over night, and the next day I'd find tiny specks of stuff imbedded into the paint on the hood with a little rust ring around it.

When my 2000 Ford arrived at the dealer, the flat surfaces had specks of rail dust imbedded into the paint. They used clay bars to remove it.

powerstrokeguy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
my last truck had this, i took it to a detail shop and they got it out. i guess they used a buffer. not sure, i was in to much of a hurry to ask what got it off.

Fire1

Certified Diesel Driver
Reaction score