wiring question

Tx_Atty

Master Baiter
Reaction score
ok, bare with me....

I have a 3 position switch that has power in all three positions. I want to be able to turn the power off/on. So, can I add a 2nd on/off only switch and run a single power wire from the source, to my on/off (in to one terminal and out the other), then to the 3 position? If so, do I ground both or only one (in which case, which one)?

Thanks guys!

Elk

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If I understand this correctly the answers are yes and both. But I'd wait for a real electrician to answer. :D

bbressler

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm by no means an electrician, but I think you'd just ground the second switch.

That's assuming that the first switch is just your basic on/off two terminal switch.

BamaSixGun

SDD Super Mod/Staff
Reaction score
I'm by no means an electrician, but I think you'd just ground the second switch.

That's assuming that the first switch is just your basic on/off two terminal switch.

no electrician either, but my thinkin tells me to ground both switches.

just my redneck opinion (JMRNO)

and wouldn't you want both switches to be an on/off, but still have aground? right?

the switches i use for my lights are on/off, but have a ground terminal as well.

bushpilot

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I guess another question is where does the 3way switch get its power
from...it sounds odd to me that a 3 position switch would have power
on ALL the terminals all the time.

Tx_Atty

Master Baiter
Reaction score