2005 Heater Problem

Matt24601

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
My first post on the forum. Let me start by admitting that I am completely new to the world of diesels. I've been a Jeep owner of one kind or another for the past 15 years. I purchased an '05 F350 4x4 DRW a few months ago. It seemed in good shape and I got a good price on it with its 70000 miles. What I failed to check out was the heater.

Here we are now in January and I am wishing I had been a little more diligent with my examination. I popped the hood to run a few checks of my own and realized that I didn't have any idea of what I was looking at. Between the intercooler, the turbo, and all of the unfamiliar hoses, I don't know where to begin.

I wanted to check out the heater hose coming out of the thermostat to see if the thermostat was letting through the warmed water. The heater in the cab blows air well enough, it's just cold air. If someone could direct me to an engine diagram, or hose diagram I would greatly appreciate it.

Any other suggestions? Any known issues with the year and model? Again, I'd appreciate all helpful suggestions.

BIG JOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I wanted to check out the heater hose coming out of the thermostat to see if the thermostat was letting through the warmed water. The heater in the cab blows air well enough, it's just cold air. If someone could direct me to an engine diagram, or hose diagram I would greatly appreciate it.

Any other suggestions? Any known issues with the year and model? Again, I'd appreciate all helpful suggestions.

First.. WELCOME to SDD ;tu

No diagram but you should be able to see/find the 2 heater hoses on the passenger side firewall, where they go in to, and out of, the heater core.

Off the top ? your thermostat may be stuck. Does the Temp gauge read in the middle area of the Normal scale ?

Joe

Matt24601

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score