Ignorant tuner question

TexasA&M

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone -

I've been toiling with gas engines for 10 years or so and have a pretty decent understanding of them. I just picked up my first diesel truck though, and am just starting to learn about them.

I have a 2006 F250 6.0.

My question here is regarding tuners and programmers. I've done some searching, but everything I find is pretty specific. I'm looking for some very general information on how programmers typically work.

What exactly do they change in how the engine runs to acheive more power and/or mpg? What are some of the better ones? What should you watch out for when looking for one? Do they ALWAYS void the waranty?

Eventually I will be looking for one in order to get better mpg. Not really interested in more power (at least, not at the expense of anything else, particularly longevity and breakage).

Any general information is apreciated.

Thanks!!

- Steve

kingkevindavid

Full Access Member
Reaction score
no ignorant questions here Steve. I am by no means an expert on tuners and I actually removed the Banks Six Gun I had and sold it.
If / when I purchase a new tuner it will be a SCT. Many of the 6.0 owners on here run Custom SCT tunes. I am sure they will speak up. I am sure they will even be able to direct you to a someone who sells them.
Make sure you add some gauges before you add a tuner, need to watch that tranny and the EGT's.

KRISTOLSON

Full Access Member
Reaction score
basically your 6.0 is overbuilt from the factory(debateable, I know:D) It is cabable of much more hp, but it is "de-tuned" to increase longevity and control emissions.