newbie here-need some help please

OutalineF350

SDD Junior Member
Reaction score
OK guys, well I introduced myself in the newbie section a couple weeks ago and I got some good advise on an issue I was having, but unfortunately the problem is getting worse. I just bought a 2005 F350 FX4 crew cab with 55,000 miles on it. I bought it from a dealer in Utah, had it shipped to Las Vegas where I live and first time I start it the CEL was on. Ran the code at Autozone, it said EGR malfunction. Members on here suggested I pull the EGR and clean it-which I did, reset the code, light went off for about 20 miles then came on again. So took it in to my local Ford dealer, found out that the dealer I bought it from just had the EGR replaced in February, along with the #1 injector. This time my dealer tells me the EGR needs to be replaced again, as well as the Fuel Control Modulator. Thankfully this is all covered under warranty...however....picked the truck up last night, drove to work this morning, on the way home from work...the CEL came on again -mad went straight to Ford, told them whats wrong, the ran the code again and said "well the EGR is showing malfunction again but we can't run an accurate test because you have an aftermarket airbox on there."
The truck came with a AFE Magnum intake....that's the only mod I'm aware of, no programmers or anything like that, just an intake. The dealer is trying to tell me that the mass airflow sensor is not in the correct position and the engine may be getting too much air???
The told me I need to get a hold of a stock air box so they can run an accurate test on the vehicle, they would put one on just to run the test but they have none in stock or laying around....and apparently they are $600 new to order one!!!
Sorry to be so long winded, but can a simple intake cause this much trouble???
Also does any one have a stock intake laying around I can buy off them?
Thanks

KRISTOLSON

Full Access Member
Reaction score