warm up time...

atk

Reaction score
even though i am a mechanic, i have very little diesel knowledge, but i am learning. some of my questions may have seemed dum coming from a mechanic, just trying to get other point of views. what would be an adequate warm up time? right now i am letting it warm up for about ten minutes. there is usually heat by then and i take off. i do take it easy till the temp guage is up to the second line. with the weather getting colder i know the warm up time will increase. how cold does have to be before i need to plug it in? any info would be great...

_________________________________________________________________ 2004 FORD F250 XLT SD PSD 4X4 CREW CAB SHORT BOX

Lord Tauk

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I usually let the truck warm up for about 2-3 minutes in warm weather, when the glow plugs finally kick off (2 minutes?) is usually about the time I put her in gear.

I've been plugging in under 40 degrees fahrenheit, I have it on a timer though; it doesn't actually come on until about 12:30, and I get up at 5 and leave just before 6AM. So I'll plug it in, and it wont actually start heating anything until about 5 hours after I got home. I go out in the morning before I leave and let the truck run for about 15 minutes too. I'll see how it goes when it starts getting below freezing here shortly.

I run plenty of fuel additives too, when it was warm I was running a tank treatment every other fillup, but since it's getting and staying cold where I live I've been running Power Services Diesel Kleen (white container) every fillup, no problems. I got some Stanadyne to try out too.

I just changed my fuel filter about two weeks ago too, so I should be good for the most of winter