High Idle Switch

Boadie

Guzzler of the Coors
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
235
Reaction score
0
Location
Thornton, Colorado
Well, I decided to do the BCP without the upfitters. I was strolling through Walmart and I finally found a switch that matched the scheme of the inside of my truck.

I listened what you all said about not really having much room to strip wires so I bought one of those cool wire strippers that kind of strips the wire on its own. EASY, took me about 30 min. It works like a charm. Warms the vehicle up in 19 degree weather in about 5 min.

I also love the reaction I get when I jump out of the truck and the high idle jumps up. I actually had one guy step back from the truck out of fear. Nice mod. Cant wait to see how it handles the truck and trailer batteries running the inverter and stuff.

I do not understand the the PTO version. I need a little run down on exactly what it for, how it differs from the BCP. What good is it that it locks the torque converter if it only works with the brake on and it park?
 

powerboatr

living well in Texas
Joined
Jul 28, 2005
Messages
6,044
Reaction score
16
Location
Northeast Texas
Well, I decided to do the BCP without the upfitters. I was strolling through Walmart and I finally found a switch that matched the scheme of the inside of my truck.

I listened what you all said about not really having much room to strip wires so I bought one of those cool wire strippers that kind of strips the wire on its own. EASY, took me about 30 min. It works like a charm. Warms the vehicle up in 19 degree weather in about 5 min.

I also love the reaction I get when I jump out of the truck and the high idle jumps up. I actually had one guy step back from the truck out of fear. Nice mod. Cant wait to see how it handles the truck and trailer batteries running the inverter and stuff.

I do not understand the the PTO version. I need a little run down on exactly what it for, how it differs from the BCP. What good is it that it locks the torque converter if it only works with the brake on and it park?



BCP differs in a few areas
BCP JUMPS to 1200 rpm and WILL change this up or down , but not below 1200 rpm, depending on battery charge condition and electrical demand. it can go as high as 3k if certain criteria is met.

BCP also leaves the TQ conv. unlocked and the tranny is basically just sitting there hanging out pumpinmg oil and waiting

both have many safety features to shut down high idle like engine oil temp, pressure, tranny temp and water temp to name a few

the PTO ramps up gently to 1200 and will hold 1200 depending on load applied to the pto item, within HP parameters of the PTO clutches etc, it does this in PARK and brake on so you can run a pto appliance. I.E. a winch or hyd pump, etc

it also LOCKS the tq converter so the tranny is basically a direct connection with the crankshaft, it also if used during HIGH ambient temps and long PTO high idle use can and will raise tranny temps and can even go high enough to CUT off said high idle, it can also raise engine oil temp...

rule of thumb is
if you need AIRFLOW and electricity, use BCP, like sitting at idle and its say HOT out and you want cold A/C,

bcp does JUMP NOW to high idle which can be as you witnessed a bit unervy for unsuspecting passer byers,
PTO high idle is less agressive in its ramp up and can also be adjusted with a ressitor, the ford fleet web site has all teh proper specs for the ressitors



i use my bcp alot,
 

bushpilot

Full Access Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
5,815
Reaction score
4
Location
Tomball
on a 6.0L all you need is a switch (some wire & some way to secure the
wires to the switch)
 

Boadie

Guzzler of the Coors
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
235
Reaction score
0
Location
Thornton, Colorado
Thanks for the reply BP. I guess I still do not understand the reason for the TQ to be locked. Does this work while the truck is moving. Sorry, Thanks
 

Boadie

Guzzler of the Coors
Joined
Oct 20, 2005
Messages
235
Reaction score
0
Location
Thornton, Colorado
I dont understand what the PTO is then? I am imagining being able to connect a shaft or something to run something mecanically or is it elec. So there for is like a generator I dont know. Let me know. Thanxs
 

DaveBen

SDD Senior Member
Joined
May 31, 2005
Messages
9,620
Reaction score
81
Location
Ukiah, California
You are correct on the generator part, it is mechanical and runs off of the tranny, but it won't work if the tranny is in gear. This is a stopped power take-off option.(?)


Dave
 

strokepower

Stroke=Power
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
844
Reaction score
0
Location
Cook Station, Mo
the other day when i tried to do the mod, i couldn't get it to work...the day before i had taken a hot wire and found the two wires i needed, hooked them up and it work like a charm...so i don't understand why it wouldn't work with the toggle and wire that i hooked to it the next day. any suggestions on why it wouldn't work?

P.S. the toggle switch and wire that i used aren't the problem because i checked them with a battery.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
30,509
Messages
266,051
Members
14,624
Latest member
Romie64
Top